2010 Municipal Election



Voters elect Bender as Mayor

Posted April 6, 2010, Updated April 8, 2010


Nunn voters today elected a mayor and six trustees in a regular election that had over 130 residents voting at the community center or by absentee ballot.  For the first time since January, the Nunn Board of Trustees will have seven members.

Tom Bender defeated Jenny Johnson by a wide margin for the office of Mayor.  Three new trustees were voted in, and three incumbents were re-elected.

James McMechan lost his bid to become a trustee following the February firing of his wife, former Town Clerk Tori McMechan, for misconduct.  McMechan received just over half as many votes as his nearest competitor.

The turnout was comparable to the December 15 recall election, with roughly 45% of registered voters casting ballots.

Unofficial election results:


Tom Bender            90     69%

Jenny Johnson           41     31%


Keith Collard         111    

Patti Norris            107

Wilbur Schooler     104

John Row               101

Joyce Taylor           92

Pat Johnson             78

James McMechan     42

The three highest vote-getters for trustee will serve four-year terms.  The bottom three will serve for two years.  The term for mayor is four years. 

Election judges were Tracy Sandmann, Nancy Cooper, and Howard Mike Williams.  A swearing-in ceremony will take place at 7:00 PM tomorrow in the board room at the community center. (NOTE: The swearing-in ceremony has been rescheduled to 7:00 PM, Thursday, April 15 because no notice was posted for the original meeting.)


iweb analytics